What is a "non-equity" state and how are these states accounted for in the Private Lien Resolution Program?



A non-equity state refers to states which have certain laws that may also keep you from re-paying your insurance plan. But, even if you lived in one of these states at the time of your injury, you insurance plan may still require you to reimburse it. Certain insurance plans have terms – which you agree to as a condition for receiving benefits – that create an express right of recovery. If your plan has that language, then your state law recognizes that the insurance plan can assert a lien and seek reimbursement of its costs.

These states have Non-Equity laws:

  • Illinois
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • New Hampshire
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina